Student Representatives

Student representatives are ordinary students who have been chosen by student union METKA to represent students’ viewpoints and needs in the decision-making processes at Metropolia UAS. Student representatives are chosen usually for one-year period in open search that takes place in autumn. The supplementary search is opened whenever there are open positions to be filled.

Check the instructions and open positions here!

Notice!  The working language in most of the representative positions is Finnish, so in order to represent, fluent Finnish is usually required.

Current student representatives

Governmental bodies of Metropolia

The Executive Board of Metropolia UAS

4/2021 – 4/2022

Lilli-Mari Häyhänen

Board of Directors


Valtteri Siljander, Adel Rizvi, Teemu Kokkonen and Santeri Hietanen

Legal Protection Committee


Member: –

Vice members: –

Expert member: Pekka Petäkoski

Board of Examiners


Member: Veera Kaija

Vice members: –

Expert member: Pekka Petäkoski

Advisory Councils of study programmes

The Advisory Council may only include students from its own study programme. There is a council for every study programme at Metropolia. Most councils operate in Finnish and they do not have an official English name. This is why many of them are shown here in Finnish.

Ajoneuvotekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Kari Leskinen ja Miska Penttinen

Apuvälinetekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Bio- ja kemiantekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Saana Lappalainen

Bioanalytiikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

CRASH-tutkintojen neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Elokuvan ja television neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Energia- ja ympäristötekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Chili Laurila

Ensihoidon neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Esitys- ja teatteritekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Lauri Pitkänen ja Eveliina Pölönen

Fysioterapian neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Jalkaterapian neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Konetekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Konservoinnin neuvottelukunta

2022: Kristiina Kuisma ja Maria Enqvist

Kulttuurituotannon neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Kuntoutuksen YAMK-tutkinnon neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Kätilötyön neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Laboratorioanalytiikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Liiketalouden neuvottelukunta

2022: Katja Ahopelto ja Otso Jokinen

Maanmittaustekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Janet Kujala ja Maija Ovaska

Muotoilun neuvottelukunta

2022: Henna Salo

Musiikin neuvottelukunta

2022: Mikko Antikainen ja Maija Rautasuo

Optometrian neuvottelukunta

2022: Elsa Stör

Osteopatian neuvottelukunta

2022: Johanna Perkiö ja Niklas Seppi

Radiografian ja sädehoidon neuvottelukunta

2022: Juha Kellman

Rakennusalan työnjohdon neuvottelukunta

2022: Carita Havasto ja Aake Perälä

Rakennusarkkitehtuurin neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Rakennustekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Coming

Sairaanhoitotyön neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Sosiaalialan neuvottelukunta

2022: Lotta Lehtonen ja Roosa Natt

Suun terveydenhuollon neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Sähkö- ja automaatiotekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Santeri Hietanen ja Mika Laaksonen

Talotekniikan neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Terveyden osaamisalueen YAMK-tutkintojen neuvottelukunta

2022: Laura Rekimies

Terveydenhoitotyön neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Tieto- ja viestintätekniikan ja tuotantotalouden neuvottelukunta

2022: Lilli-Mari Häyhänen ja Sakari Leinonen

Toimintaterapian ja vanhustyön neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Vaatetusalan neuvottelukunta

2022: Elisabet Valkonen

Vanhustyön YAMK-tutkinnon neuvottelukunta

2022: Vacant

Viestinnän neuvottelukunta

2022: Tia Tast

Other student representatives

Campus groups


Aaro Yli-Öyrä


Valtteri Siljander ja Adel Rizvi


Aiki Oago


Miitta Vahvelainen ja Lari Koskinen


HOAS is the student apartment provider at the metropolitan area. It is managed by students.

Board of directors:

2022: Matti Tujula

Tenants co-operation body:

2022: Miitta Vahvelainen (vice member)

Students' Social Activities at Metropolia courses

Students’ Social Activities at Metropolia -study courses form the so-called a small minor subject. The purpose of the courses is to support students who act as student representatives or in student associations and the student union. One will register to courses annually at OMA.

The courses last one calendar year and include some small written assignments as well as participation in training provided by the student union. The study module is built according to the Learning Track, in which the student progresses from the basics of association activities to more demanding tasks.

You can select parts from the set:

  • Students’ Social Activities at Metropolia 1 (XX00CR15-3001)
    • After completing the course, the student knows the basics of Student Union and Student Association activities in the University of Applied Sciences environment.
  • Students’ Social Activities at Metropolia 2 (XX00CR16-3001)
    • The student is familiar with the Student Union and Student Association environment in Finnish Universities of Applied Sciences and is able to apply what they have learned independently in demanding tasks.
  • Students’ Social Activities at Metropolia 3 (XX00CR17-3001)
    • The student knows the activities of the student organization field and knows how the activities of organizations are developed at a strategic level.

More detailed contents and goals are in the study guide. Further information on the courses is provided primarily by the Student Union advocacy specialist.

Further information

Mari Purhonen
Specialist, Advocacy and Communications
050 382 1024

Adel Rizvi
METKA Board’s vice chairperson
050 355 5301

Updated 3.5.2022

This post is also available in Suomi.